The new Bridesmaid dresses – part one

You may remember I posted a week or so ago about a slight/major bridesmaid dress hiccup in which requires me to buy new dresses.

Well I’ve managed to track some down. This in itself is pretty momentous for a couple of reasons: they were within the ‘I can just about scrape enough together’ budget. AND all three of my bridesmaid like them! Shock! Horror!

However, rather than being from the safe and friendly high street where things can be tried on, dismissed for a different style, and taken back if necessary, I’m doing what I always said I wouldn’t – buying online from a Chinese seller.

Now let me make a couple of things clear, there’s no real problem with buying online; generally PayPal/your credit card provider will protect you, and there’s nothing actually wrong with a Chinese person making your dress. However, add these factors together and big flashing warning signs and horror stories jump up on the computer screen.

I think most people have heard at least one horror story of someone ordering a cheap, Chinese made dress from an unscrupulous company. And for that reason I said I never would. But it’s amazing what being faced with buying three new dresses literally weeks after being made redundant from your ‘wedding money’ job does to you!

So I’m risking it. In all fairness, I’ve chosen an eBay seller with near enough perfect feedback. And I’ve also contacted them for material colour samples and they sent it super quick. And they’re not actually based in China (Birmingham in fact).

But my dear mother from a young age instilled the fear of being ‘taken advantage of’ by online sellers and so I will worry from the moment I order them (I will instantly regret it and re-read the Ts&Cs), and panic right up until they try the dresses on. Simply because, if these dresses turn out to be a complete pile of poo, I will have 6 dresses and nothing for my Bridesmaids to wear.

But enough of the irrational worrying! Here are the new pretty dresses!

20130416-183359.jpg

They’re simple, chiffon, floor length gowns. I won’t be having them in the same colour as in the photo though; I sent off for a couple of colour samples and one of them turned out to be an almost perfect match to the original dresses and the shoes they already have!

Fingers crossed they’ll be as lovely in real life as they are in the photos!

3 thoughts on “The new Bridesmaid dresses – part one

  1. What was the eBay seller called? I am worried the colour of purple I want is in my head only. But at least I have a year to find: make it?

Leave a Reply

