DIY Mr & Mrs letters

One of the first things I bought when Mr M and I got engaged were some wooden Mr & Mrs letters for the top table.

I’d seen them online and thought they looked fab, so after much research to find the best value ones I bought a set. They were sanded and ready to paint so I decided I’d paint them gold; one of the accent colours in our colour scheme.

Here they are sanded and unpainted…

letters mrr

And here they are with their first coat of antique gold paint…

20130303-220320.jpg

But as the wedding gets nearer, I’ve decided that they are a bit too plain. Our theme consists of natural textures and muted colours, so I decided I needed to inject a little bit of glitz into it. So I added some glitter! I’ve not gone mad with the glitter, but its definitely added another element into our wedding pretty-ness. Its not really obvious from these photos, but when you see them in real-life the light picks up the glitter and they twinkle beautifully!

So here are my new and improved (and a little bit glittery) Mr & Mrs letters…

mr and mrs

I used a gold glitter paint from The Works (only £1.49!) to get the subtle glittery effect rather than using actual glitter particles. It gives a glittery finish, but not to such an extent that it’d look out of place with the natural decorations we’ll have across the whole venue.

And because I only used about a third of the bottle, so I’ve glitterised some of the other letters I’m placing round the venue…

l and d

Pretty!

2 thoughts on “DIY Mr & Mrs letters

Leave a Reply

