A year of ‘lasts’

It dawned on me yesterday that this year is going to be a year of lasts.

Thursday was my last Valentines Day as a fiancé. On the 20th of this month it’ll be Mr M’s last birthday as technically a ‘single’ man. In March it’ll be Mr M and I’s last ‘Getting Together Officially’ Anniversary (is this something you celebrate once you’re married?!). In June it’ll be my last birthday as a ‘Miss’ with the surname I’ve had for 20-something years. In July it’ll be our last Engagement Anniversary before we are married.

And the list goes on.

Don’t get me wrong, none of this is making me sad – in fact, I’m pretty damn excited because I know there are going to be a million and one more ‘firsts’ to come! But there does seem to be a hell of a lot of ‘lasts’ to get past and that’s almost like closing a chapter for each of them. None of them will actually ever be the same again, even if it feels like it is.

But as I said, there will be so many more firsts to experience over our married life… Our first kiss as husband and wife. Our first full day of being married.. The first ‘big’ one I guess will be our first NYE as a married couple. We’ll have only been married 3 days when NYE comes around so I think that’s a pretty good first to start with!

315 days and counting..

Leave a Reply

