5:2 Diet

In a bid to lose the last inch or so to make my dress fit perfectly without needing any alterations and because I’ve put on far too much weight since I met Mr M three years ago, I’ve decided to start the 5:2 diet.

In short, you eat normally but healthily (i.e. no fast food etc) for 5 days out of 7, and on 2 days you ‘fast’ and only eat 600 calories. On the fast days you’re only allowed two meals; this can be breakfast and lunch, breakfast and dinner, or lunch and dinner, and the 600 calories are split between the two. AND you have to remember to count in your drinks to that total too! Luckily for me, I’ve been drinking lots of green tea and that has 0 calories!

I’ve also been using the My Fitness Pal app to track everything I eat and drink, and the exercise I do. I don’t really like exercise, but I take my three dogs out for an individual walk every day which burns about 200 calories. It’s really handy to record what you’ve been eating; particularly when you have to be strict with your 600 calories on the fasting days.

I’m not going to pretend its easy; today is day one of fasting and its been pretty hard. I am hungry. But if it works, then that’s good with me! But I know that tomorrow I’ll be able to eat normally again!

I WILL be a little bit thinner by this December!!

Leave a Reply

