My DIY Welcome Sign

I’ve had a cork board hanging around our house for ages, and I wasn’t really too sure what to do with it. But then inspiration hit me and I decided to create a ‘welcome board’ to display in the entrance to our venue!

I used chalkboard paint and sprayed the entire thing to give it a black matt finish. Once it’d dried I glued ivory ribbon around the edges to frame the centre, and attempted to write on it using a piece of chalk.

All was going well until I went to do the second coat of chalk and smudged the entire bottom half!! I tried to rub the smudges off using water, but it just ruined the paint below and it looked AWFUL.

So I decided to cover the mess with a layer of cream and gold patterned wallpaper and print out little information cards in the same style as the reserved seating signs I made months back.

And this was the result!! I’ve not stuck it all down yet and I want to add a couple of decorative bits to cover the ribbon joins on the frame, but I have to say, I’m quite proud of myself! And it’ll sit very nicely on the wooden easel I painted gold a while back!

20130110-112943.jpg

My first proper DIY project of 2013!!

Leave a Reply

